## Media Statement



Date: 30 January 2024 Attention: News Editor Ref: 9/6/2

## BANK OF NAMIBIA ANNOUNCES NEW BOARD MEMBERS

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

- The Bank of Namibia is pleased to announce the appointment of Dr Meshack Tjirongo, Adv. Eliaser Nekwaya and Mr. Pieter Kruger as non-executive members of the Bank's Board of Directors and the re-appointment of Mr. Ehrenfried Meroro as a non-executive board member. These appointments, in line with Section 9 of the Bank of Namibia Act (2020), will take effect from 1 February 2024.
- 2. Mr. Pieter Kruger is currently serving as the Manager of Information Systems and Technology at a Namibian Uranium Mine and brings more than 26 years of expertise in artificial intelligence, cybersecurity, IT security, operational leadership, financial management, and corporate governance. In his previous role, he served as the Group Chief Operations Officer at a Namibian insurance company, overseeing operational processes and the branch network of the group's companies. Before this, Mr. Kruger held the position of Group Chief Information Officer at one of the largest commercial banks in Namibia. Additionally, he presently serves as a board member for the Namibia Revenue Agency.
- 3. Advocate Eliaser Nekwaya is a legal professional, bringing a wealth of experience in corporate governance and risk management. As a member of the Society of Advocates of Namibia, he has demonstrated extensive expertise across various disciplines, including policy oversight, financial stewardship, and operational supervision. Adv. Nekwaya is unwavering in his commitment to making substantial contributions to the strategic and governance objectives of the Bank of Namibia, showcasing a consistent track record of excellence throughout his career. His professional journey began as a Legal Practitioner in the Government's Attorney's office, and over time, he rose to the position of Advocate. Currently, Adv. Nekwaya serves as a director on two other boards.

- 4. With a wealth of experience exceeding 30 years, Dr Meshack Tjirongo has been actively involved in formulating and implementing macroeconomic policies, providing counsel on economic and development policy matters across various countries in Africa, North America, and Europe. Dr Tjirongo joined the Bank of Namibia in 1990 within the Research Department, progressing to the role of Director where he played a pivotal role in designing and implementing monetary policy responses as well as the exchange rate regime for Namibia. In 1999, Dr Tjirongo left the Bank of Namibia to join the International Monetary Fund (IMF), where he served as a Senior Economist leading the formulation of macroeconomic policies for IMF-supported programs. His international service at the IMF also included roles as the resident representative in Gambia and Sierra Leone, where he actively monitored and reported on economic developments and played a key role in capacity building for the implementation of technical assistance reforms.
- 5. In welcoming the new Board Members, Mr. Johannes !Gawaxab, Chairperson of the Board, described the appointments as instrumental in enhancing the Bank's policies, internal controls, risk management and advancing the achievement of its strategic objectives. "As the Bank steps into the conclusive year of its strategic plan, we are pleased to welcome the new Board members who will play a crucial role in providing the necessary oversight as we discharge our mandate. We have no doubt that the Board members will contribute significantly towards the execution of our current and future strategic endeavours."
- 6. The Bank wishes the appointed Board Members success during their tenure.

Issued by:

Naufiku Hamunime Acting Director: Strategic Communication & International Relations, Bank of Namibia Tel: (061) 283 5114 or email: <u>info@bon.com.na</u>